Board of Trustees

Getting to Know the 2019-2020 MSSA Board of Trustees

With 13 members from a variety of professional backgrounds, but all with a common passion for MSSA and Montessori education, your Board of Trustees meets regularly with Head of School Chuck Raymer and MSSA Business Manager, Ralph Huber. The primary work of the Board of Trustees is to ensure and protect the long-term welfare and interest of the school and its mission. Each Trustee holds office for one or two three-year terms, not to exceed 6 years. Specific committees outlined in the Board By-Laws allow members to focus on specific objectives. These committees include: Executive Committee, Finance Committee, Institutional Advancement Committee, Committee on Trustees and other committees created as needed (Security, Policy Review, Building, etc.). Board members include 8 current parents—with 14 current students and 5 alumni parents—with 12 MSSA graduates.


Sophie Bardy
Board Chair


Bryan Mendenhall
Board Vice Chair


Brandy Czar
Institutional Advancement Chair


Annette Evanson
Committee on Trustees Chair


Simone Norris
Treasurer/Finance Chair


Carol Dixon

Tim Biela
Sam Mehta
Marco Sepulveda
Javier Trevino
Lisa Vargas
Sana Yassin
Alex Nava
Ben Newman

MSSA Board Mission Statement

To ensure the institution remains financially strong for our children’s children and to preserve and actively support the school in the realization of its mission.

School Mission Statement

At The Montessori School of San Antonio, we guide children to be passionate learners, independent thinkers, and engaged citizens.